CONDUIT is a dance theatre project co-created by Deidre Cavazzi and Jessamyn Fairfield, exploring the brain as an electronic device and how our neural circuitry leads to perception, memory, and mind. Our performances and school workshops are funded by the Irish Research Council through their New Foundations award for STEAM innovations.

The final performance of our dance theatre piece expressing neurons, mind and memory through movement will take place at the Dinkelspiel Auditorium at Stanford University on March 3rd, hosted by Stanford School of Medicine, Medical Humanities & the Arts Program and the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute. Speakers will include:

  • Victor Henderson, MD, Director, Stanford Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center, MS Professor of Epidemiology & Population Health and of Neurology
  • Nicole Corso, MS, Imaging and Data Research Scientist, Department of Neurology
  • Molika Sinha, MS, Cellular & Molecular Biology, Stanford School of Medicine

The cast will include both Stanford researchers and the cast of the Saddleback College shows. The performances are free but pre-booking is essential:

Previous shows took place at the University of Galway and Saddleback College.

Saddleback College shows in February 2023 featured guest talks from Dr. Jessamyn Fairfield (University of Galway), Prof. Tina Jenkins (Saddleback College), and Dr. Jennifer Czerniawski (Saddleback College). Choreography was by Deidre Cavazzi, and the cast featured Avery Baxter, Jennifer Becker, Aryana Daha, Grace Dunscombe, Madeline Green, Mykaila Koizumi, Kristen Norris, Olivia Rodriguez, Vanessa Santos, Abby Sheehan, Sierra Sutphin, and Carol Wang.

Galway shows in June 2022 featured guest talks from Dr. Mossy Kelly (ATU) and Dr. Richard Roche (University of Maynooth), and a pre-show featuring drawing in process and display by Caitlyn Rooke. Choreography was by Deidre Cavazzi and the cast: Deidre Cavazzi, Michelle Coyne, Jérémie Cyr-Cooke, Jessamyn Fairfield, Laura Geary, Christine Safi, Dircia Sarmento Belo, Georgina Short, and Jenna Veal. Special thanks to Marianne Ní Chinnéide, Mike O’Halloran, and Sarah Timmins of the O’Donoghue Centre for their gracious support and the use of facilities.